Choices

Aching for peace we turn to the wind,

Finding our faces scorched by its force.

Running on empty we dig even deeper,

To rush to the grave and the peace that’s within,

 

We run from the past just to hide from the future,

Dance in the dark where no one can see,

Suffer the rape of our soul and our minutes,

Just to be, just how, just what others want to see.

 

Chorus:

So now I choose my way,

Now I choose my truth.

Choose to love and to laugh,

Choose to dance in the rain.

I’ll find my path less taken,

Find a way live life and be me.

The best I can be.

 

‘Cause in peace for ourselves makes others unhappy,

Joy in our lives means that others are sad.

So we turn back to the wind and we suffer in silence,

We burn in the sun of another’s demands.

 

So I’m choosing to plant my feet here in the earth,

And planting a tree that will give me some shade,

And I’m giving you notice that things will be different,

This is my life, my world, and things have to change.

 

Chorus:

So now I choose my way,

Now I choose my truth.

Choose to love and to laugh,

Choose to dance in the rain.

I’ll find my path less taken,

Find a way live life and be me.

The best that I can be.

 

I’ve watched my dreams burn and my joy dissipated,

I’ve watched all the others take pride for my work,

Now’s the time to find love and a home in the country,

Now’s the time, yes my time, to make a last stand.

 

Chorus:

So now I choose my way,

Now I choose my truth.

Choose to love and to laugh,

Choose to dance in the rain.

I’ll find my path less taken,

Watch me leave a blazing trail.

M_garden

Leave a Reply

