Beloved

I loved too deeply, not the face,
For that was tainted with a lens,
But rather loved the heart within,
That thought itself a broken soul.
When all I saw was shining light,
Through poet’s eyes the truth beneath.
And saw potential, worth, and pride,
That echoed through the silent days.
And saw perfection pulse beneath,
A chest not right, a stucked in cheek.
I loved too deeply what I saw,
And tried to be a mirror to,
An eye not ready to believe.
Still I did love, and still I do,
Yet understand the greater plan,
To move beyond the realm of dreams,
To stand full planted in the truth.
Yet who am I to even dare,
To dream of one so full of light.
I saw the beauty there within,
And that must be my solace now.

Leave a Reply

