Repetition

Hurt me.

Hurt me again.

Hurt me again and this time really make it hurt.

Then have me say “I’m sorry” like I mean it.

Hurt me.

Really make me feel,

Each syllable you never speak,

Just raise the eyebrow,

But make me hurt.

For all the things you did to you,

Hurt me and make me hurt again.

And all the dreams you never knew,

Hurt me and make me bleed for you,

For all the things you wanted too.

Hurt me.

Hurt me.

Because you can,

And never feel the consequence.

Hurt me.

Keep me locked inside,

Off kilter till you strike again.

Then pour on sweet before you hit,

Smash all my dreams and crush my hope.

But hurt me,

Because it is your right.

You the man,

And I the boy.

Hurt me,

And keep the hurt a’coming,

Till I comply and you feel good.

Hurt me until I’m curled up on floors,

Hurt me behind the hospital doors.

Doubt my teachers,

Doubt the doctors,

You speak truth louder,

And they listen.

Hurt me till I’m numb,

And blind to all,

Except the hurt of what you made me.

Hurt me until I can’t escape.

Hurt me.

Hurt me.

Hurt me until I hurt myself,

Then sit back I’m in my proper place,

And you don’t need to hurt me,

Just correct it if you see me flagging,

Hurt me and teach me then to hurt myself.

hieronymus-bosch-die-hoelle-190239

Leave a Reply

