Child of the Thames

What brought me truly to these shores?
What was the purpose underneath,
To make me leave my little home,
Traverse an ocean, just to sleep?
Oh, how have I lain in my bed,
Wanderer trapped in concrete cage,
And dreamed of flowers, sky lark song.
What was the purpose, what the cause?
Was it to kick the dust of England,
From my heel and start anew,
How have I failed or won in that?
A modern Byron, lost in thought,
Child of a river old and slow,
Now standing on a foreign shore.
What brought me truly to these shores?
Not whim or fancy, it was love,
But deeper magic worked beneath,
Not yet revealed but working still.
I lost the things I thought were mine,
And so I dream of sky lark song,
Wait for true purpose to reveal.
I am the lonely stranger on the shore,
Standing patient, holding fast,
Child of a river old and slow.

image

Leave a Reply

