Mesopotamia’s Child

How may I now return once more,
To walk in Mesopotamia’s leafy lanes,
And gaze on Isis’ serpent course?
I, a son of dreaming spires,
And fields of wheat below blue sky,
The dreamer in a foreign land.
These lands are not my own to walk,
I cannot breath as once I did,
And am reduced to standing still.
Give me some little piece of earth,
Give me the blessing of the sky,
And how then may I thrive?
All that I am is clay and chalk,
The product of my ancient hills,
No more, no less than turf and rain.
How may I now return once more,
To walk in Mesopotamia’s leafy lanes,
Forgetting all the dreams of youth.

img_1612

Leave a Reply

